agrispeedsite.blogg.se

Prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac
Prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac










prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac
  1. Prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac how to#
  2. Prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac install#
  3. Prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac full#

That works fine, provided you give the Tiger partition at least 30% free space.

Prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac install#

I repartitioned my disk (160GB on MBP) to allow Tiger (80GB) and Leopard (77GB) sit side by side, so the former Tiger partition was shrunk using Disk Utility from Leopard Install DVD and Leopard installed on the second partition.

prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac

Very interesting, but at which point did you create the third partition ? And then it's just the small matter of 86 patches (as of now, 63MB) required to bring XP SP2 up-to-date. This Apple Knowledge Base article, about using only 13-character passkeys across multiple platforms, solved that. I had problems connecting XP to my WEP-128bit network. Eventually, you will see the rolling green hills of Windows, at which point insert your Leopard Install Disc, and "setup.exe" should auto-run to install your drivers.(The glaring visual disparity between the Leopard install process and the XP one, seen in quick succession, is quite something). The second time around, I chose the Format as FAT32 (Quick) option, and it went peachily.The first time around, I chose to proceed without any further formatting of the partition, but the install crashed after a few minutes, and my machine restarted in Leopard.Eventually, you will be prompted to select a disk your Windows partition will helpfully be the only one with FAT32 written alongside it.You should then start to see the slick old-school text of the Windows installer sliding down your lovely screen.When you're ready to install Windows, simply insert your Windows Install disk, and reboot holding down "C" key.You can now install Leopard, ideally on the first (top) partition, and set that up how you like.Now go to the Erase tab, and erase your Windows partition, formatting this as MS-DOS/FAT32.Windows will eventually reside on the last (bottom) partition, which I named BOOTCAMP, just in case that might be required voodoo later. You may need to resize the Disk Utility window, as I couldn't slide it to less than 50GB, but I only wanted 30GB for Windows. Set up your partition scheme, leaving the disk format as HFS+ (Journaled).Don't go in to the Installer when it appears, instead launch Disk Utility from the menu bar.

Prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac how to#

Read on.Īssuming you're all backed up, and ready to wipe your disk, here's how to do this: I just tweaked the original a bit, and included some additional details.

Prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac full#

Full credit for the workaround goes to AxL over at Apple Discussions. So, Boot Camp Assistant will not allow this. (I don't want a debate on the merits of partitioning it works for me, and the one time I didn't do it, I lost a ton of stuff due to 10.1 weirdness). Basically, I wanted three partitions on my startup drive: System, Users and Windows. I thought I'd share the details of how I successfully managed a "non-standard" installation of Boot Camp in 10.5.












Prepare hard drive for bootcamp mac